Record Tracklist

  1. Eighty Eight -:-- / -:--
  2. Glad You’re Hear -:-- / -:--
  3. Open Mind -:-- / -:--
  4. Facing It -:-- / -:--
  5. Just a Flesh Wound -:-- / -:--
  6. E.J. -:-- / -:--
  7. Outer Urge -:-- / -:--
  8. Gabriella (Bergonzi) -:-- / -:--
  9. Lapso (Guerrero) -:-- / -:--
  10. For Gwenn -:-- / -:--

Gertz revisits his motto and inspiration as an artist, “Open Mind,” which is both the title of this album, as well as his record label, of which this is the fourth publication. This recording features Jerry Bergonzi (saxophone), Phil Grenadier (trumpet), Austin McMahon (drums), and Gabriel Guerrero (piano) alongside Gertz and his open minded compositions. If savvy listeners want to explore the music further, the lead sheets for all the songs are generously included in the liner notes of the CD publication.

I can say very easily that this is a CD that I love to listen to from the first tune through the last tune. Top notch musicians playing great tunes. What could be better?

– Eric Jackson, WGBH Boston

The triumph of Open Mind is how adroitly it highlights the compositional gifts on its leader; the serious chops of all involved; and the unity that only the best working bands achieve.

– Raul Amador, Bass Musician Magazine

Jerry Bergonzi – tenor sax, Gabriel Guerrero – piano, Bruce Gertz – bass, Phil Grenadier – trumpet, Austin MacMahon – drums